Changing Calendar Permissions (Outlook 2010)

From Enterprise IT Services Helpdesk

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Overview

Sharing a calendar will allow different individuals to see events, appointments, and meetings. You can grant different levels of access, ranging from allowing one to see detailed event information to adding and deleting entries at will. You cannot assign a delegate(ability to accept and reject meetings on the user's behalf) through this guide.

Brief explanations of the different permission settings can be found beneath the instructions at the bottom of this page.

Video

Instructions

  1. Set up your UGAMail account in Outlook 2010 using Exchange. Please see the article Setting up Outlook 2007 & 2010 for UGAMail. The images in this tutorial specifically follow Outlook 2007.
  2. In Outlook, select the Calendar tab in the bottom left corner of the window, then expand My Calendars (︾) if it is not already expanded:
    • Description: 1-ExpandMyCalendars.PNG
    • You should see your list of calendars (your personal, default calendar is named Calendar as indicated by the red arrow below).
    • Description: 2-SelectCalendar.PNG
  3. Select the calendar you wish to set sharing permissions for, and right-click to bring up a menu as shown below. Choose Change Sharing Permissions (in Outlook 2010, choose Properties and then click on the Permissions tab.):
    • Description: 3-CalendarMenu.PNG
  4. This will open the Calendar Properties screen:
    • Description: 4-CalendarProperties.PNG
  5. As you can see, the name Default (which refers to all individuals within UGA who have not been given specific sharing permissions for your calendar) has access to view your free and busy time. They are unable to view details about any appointment (i.e. subject, attendees, location), just that you are not available during an interval of time.
    • In Oracle Calendar, this is equivalent to view times only in the Access Rights dialog as shown below:
    • Description: 5-OCAL_ComparisonTimesOnly.PNG
  6. This permission level can be changed. Outlook has a number of prefabricated levels of access, selectable in the pull-down menu for Permission Level:
    • Description: 6-PermissionLevels.PNG
  7. The area circled in red details the exact level of access an individual user will have with the options selected in the Permission Level pull-down.
    • Description: 7-PermissionLevelsRead.PNG
  8. As you can see, Default (everyone else) is set to Free/Busy time only, while the person, "Joe Staff," was added as a Reviewer. This can be changed. For example: suppose you would prefer everyone to see where you will be and what the appointment is for. Highlight "Default", and, under Permission Level, you would select Free/Busy time, Subject, Location. Notice the change to the Read permission level, the second circle in the image:
    • Description: 7-PermissionLevelsChange.PNG
    • Again, please note that this will change the permissions for all individuals at UGA, so if you are concerned with privacy, it is best left at its default level.
  9. Now, let's take a look at the permissions for "Joe Staff." As you can see, Joe has Reviewer permissions. This is a read-only permission; Joe can see all of the details of appointments in this calendar, but is unable to add, delete, or modify anything about them.
    • Description: 9-PermissionLevelsReview.PNG
    • What if you wanted Joe to see just the subject and location of this calendar? Choose Free/Busy time, subject, location underneath the Read section. As you modify and change options, creating combinations that aren't covered by one of the categories in the Permission Level pull-down menu, Joe Staff's permission level will simply read Custom as highlighted below:
    • Description: 10-PermissionLevelsCustom.PNG
  10. Let us add another person to our calendar so they have a greater level of access. Click on the Add... button.
    • Description: 11-PermissionsADD.PNG
  11. By default, this brings up the Global Address List (GAL), but there are additional search options as well:
    • Description: 12-AddUsers.PNG
  12. We are going to add Jane User Type in her full name in the circled field:
    • Description: 13-AddUsers.PNG
  13. We have found Jane. Click on the Add -> button, then choose OK.
    • Description: 14-AddUsers.PNG
  14. As you can see in the screenshot below, Jane User has been added to your calendar with the default permission level. You may modify her access level using one of the previously mentioned methods. A detailed explanation of the different levels of access can be found in the heading below.
    • Description: 15-CalPropertiesAdd.PNG


Calendar Permission Levels

Below are explanations of the specific permission levels you can give to individuals with access to your calendar.

Read

Read refers to what a person can see in your calendar.

  • None - User cannot see any of your appointments, including whether you are free or busy. This can only be set for all users (the name, "Default"), not for individuals; cannot be opened in schedule assistant.
  • Free/Busy time - User can see if you have an appointment at a certain time, but cannot see the location nor the name of the appointment.
  • Free/Busy time, subject, location - User can see if you have an appointment, its subject/title, and its location.
  • Full Details - User can view all information about an appointment.

Write

This set of permissions refers to whether or not one can create events in your calendar, and modify these entries. You can select more than one option at a time.

  • Create items - Individual can create appointments and meeting requests on your calendar.
  • Create subfolders - Not Applicable
  • Edit Own - User can modify/change any items they created in your calendar, such as appointment time, subject, etc.
  • Edit All - Same as above, but can edit all entries created by yourself and other users.

Delete Items

  • None - User cannot remove entries in your calendar, regardless of whether or not they created it.
  • Own - User can delete any entry they have created.
  • All - User has access to delete all entries, even ones you have created.

Folder

  • Folder Visible - This option will automatically be selected if you are a "Contributor" or above. It allows one to open an entire calendar in a Outlook and Outlook Web Access (OWA/UGAMail Webmail) to see details of meetings. This is required in order to view the calendar.
Views